Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Flying Model 31

Started by Pi, March 04, 2008, 08:33:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Pi

Hi Dave and fellow hot metal nuts,

Yesterday, myself and a small team of members, installed the very last Linotype, a 1955  Model 31, from a local Newspaper office, Taranaki Newspapers Ltd, New Plymouth, NZ, into our museum, the Taranki Aviation Transport And Technology Museum, New Plymouth.

Generously donated by the recent new owners of the company, Fairfax Ltd, the machine seems to have been stored in their old Lino/Comp room (now a plate-making area) for about the last 15 years, having been used infrequently some few years before in the commercial print.

I recalled using this machine occasionally when I was an apprentice Commercial Machine Typographer to Taranaki Newspapers, in their Commercial Printing Division, in the 1970's, then later, after the succession of senior tradesmen had left, the machine was "mine".  I moved on in the mid-70's and thought I'd seen the last of it, until a contact at TNL asked me if our museum wanted it. Well the answer was of course, a resounding "yes".

The weird thing about getting this machine, is that it is now sitting beside another Model 31. As if that isn't strange enough, both machines used to sit side-by-side in the Commercial Pinting Division, all those years back, when I was an apprentice and later a tradesman. Out of the 20-plus machines they had, these two are the only survivors now.

Here's a picture for you of the 31 "flying", about to descend onto a temporary ramp, prior to getting it into the museum. The machine will require some electrical work, but mechanically, looks sound and all the "bits" are there. Only having a few hours available to work on the machine each week, I hope to have it running, with some assistance from our museum sparkies, in less than six months. If the electrics are safe, could be sooner.