Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Nearest Digital Equivalent of Linotype Georgian

Started by eyebeams, December 01, 2022, 10:13:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

eyebeams

Hi there - I'm new to the forum and hope this posting isn't too off topic.
I'm looking for the nearest digital equivalent to Linotype Georgian (used in the old Penguin Paperback books). As far as I can see the original was never digitized. But what would be the nearest equivalent now if any? Apologies for my general ignorance on this topic.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions, pointers etc.

Leon Cych

Dave Hughes

Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Dave Hughes

I'm no expert in this field, but I would guess Georgia comes in pretty close, and the name suggests they may be related.

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Hopefully, someone with a little more expertise in this field may chip in.  :-\
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

eyebeams

Yes - thank you. The only reference to it I have found is this one to George William Jones http://luc.devroye.org/fonts-34416.html