Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Linotype and Machinery printing press

Started by Frederico Porta, January 12, 2024, 09:11:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Frederico Porta

I'm a researcher about the history of printing press in Brasil in the first half of the twenty century. During the research of my master's degree about the modernization process of the printing in a capital city of northeast of Brasil called Natal, I discovered a double rotation press produced by the Linotype and Machinery who probably came to Brasil in 1928.

Im in getting in touch wanting to know if any of you guys have more information about the machines commercialized by the Linotype and Machinery.

I would be grateful if you could help me to know if exist a machinery catalog or any kind of information or documents who explain about when this press was produced and how its work. I am sending you images of this press in case it helps identify it.

Dave Hughes

Can anyone help with this?

I don't think it's a particularly rare press.
Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Dave Hughes

After posting a link to this week's newsletter on FB I have received the following suggestions:

Jeremy Winkworth suggests:

Looks like a very large Wharfedale stop cylinder like an SW4 with a retro fitted feeder.

Ronald Arthur Johnson came up with the following:

Centurion 20X30?

Graham Steele says he has operated one, he says:

Linotype & Machinery single colour two rev, hand fed. I used to run one back in the '60s at The Garden City Press In Letchworth

Franklin Weber says:

The letterpress looks to be a Pony Miehle press. I used to feed paper into it for many years in Kankakee, Illinois.

Roger Draheim says:

Looks like a Miller.

Nick Howard

British L & M Miehle

Rob Miller