Metal Type: Home | Library | Forum | Free Ads | Store

Embossing

Started by Derek Ashenden, May 01, 2008, 10:00:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Printle: A Printing Word Game from Metal Type

Derek Ashenden

I have had arequest from a customer to have is logo embossed.I have sourced a company that makes the die. However I am not sure how to make the female die. I seem to remember when I was a apprentice (many years ago) making it out of blotting paper. Has anyone got any tips on this subject.

Dave Hughes

Hi Derek, and welcome to the Metal Type forum.

I watched this video on Youtube a while ago on the subject of "Embossing and Debossing" - I'd never come across the term "Debossing" before!

Not sure if it answers the question you're asking, but maybe it's worth a look:

Printle: Word Puzzle for Printers Play Now

Keep in touch with Metal Type Get our newsletters

Jeff Zilles [jeffo]

I was willing to shut up and let someome else have a crack at this subject first but not much seems to have happened so  --  'In like Flynn - feet first.'

From the information supplied it appears that it is intended to use a male die.

If this is the case, then for the finished work to have an embossed effect when viewed face up, the job would have to be impressed from the rear of the sheet.  The warning here is that the die required must be right reading or 'twill end up ass-about.

Forseeable problems ---

Register - should there be text to accompany the embossing the lay would need to be reversed.

Unless the boss is very shallow / low, most paper stocks embossed to any depth this way without extra and special gear will show a tendency to crease at random just outside the image.  A perfectly fitting hard counter, engineered with calulated clearance for the particular stock and jolly hard to position might alliviate this problem should it arise.